Miller Distributors Limited have presented a number of Wilkinson Sword Quattro Razor Systems to Fondazzjoni Wirt Artna (FWA) employees at the breathtaking Fort Rinella in Kalkara
Fort Rinella is home to the world’s largest cannon – the Armstrong 100-ton gun. It was built by the British between 1878 and 1886 to counter a potential threat posed by the Italian navy’s launching of a new breed of battleship armed with the same type of armament.
FWA retains a large collection of historic edged weapons ranging from swords, daggers, bayonets and cutlasses. Amongst the best swords held in this collection are British army swords from the 19th and 20th century made by Wilkinson Sword Makers of Pall Mall, London.
Wilkinson Sword began in 1772 when Henry Nock, an acclaimed gun maker, set up the business. In 1804 Wilkinson Sword were appointed Royal Gun makers to HM King George III and James Wilkinson became Nock’s partner after marrying his daughter.
On Nock’s death in 1805, Wilkinson inherited the business. His son, Henry Wilkinson subsequently moved the company to Pall Mall and extended the company’s business from bayonet making to sword manufacturing. By 1879 the business had moved to bigger premises in Chelsea and became the privately owned company called The Wilkinson Sword Co Ltd.
From the 1890s onwards, Wilkinson Sword steadily expanded its product range. By the turn of the century over 5,000 products were sold, from bayonets and swords to cut-throat razors. And in 1898 the revolutionary Wilkinson Sword safety razor was introduced.
Wilkinson Sword’s heritage and expertise in blade technology has led to an understanding of the diverse needs of customers. Today Wilkinson Sword offers a range of shaving solutions to suit different ages and lifestyles.